DSUPL: 000001 of 000005

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY 48TH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT FRANKLIN CIRCUIT COURT DIVISION I CIVIL ACTION NO. 21-CI-00645

TIA TAYLOR, et al.,

PLAINTIFF

v.

ORDER

KKR & CO., L.P., et al.

DEFENDANT

This matter is before the Court on remand from Chief Justice John Minton, who has asked this Court to review and rule on an Affidavit for Designation of Special Judge under KRS 26A.020. The Court has reviewed the Affidavit, and considered the surrounding circumstances, and concluded that the interests of justice would best be served by voluntary recusal in this action. This is a highly contentious lawsuit, which has been characterized by an extraordinary degree of conflict and disputes among counsel from its inception. The Court has done its best to be an impartial decision maker, and to base its decisions on the facts and the law. It is now apparent that the Court's own role in this litigation will be yet another such area of conflict, which will detract from the ability of the judicial system to render justice to the litigants and the public. The Kentucky Supreme Court has recently announced a new standard governing judicial recusal in Abbott, Inc. v. Guiguis, 626 S.W.3d 475, 484-85 (Ky. 2021), which counsels that recusal is the best course when such questions arise. While the Court believes many of the allegations of the Affidavit are incorrect or taken out of context, the Court is convinced that the best course under the Abbott case is to recuse, so that the complete focus of the lawsuit will remain on the merits of the claims and defenses of the parties. Accordingly, this Court recuses from further action in this case, and this matter shall be transferred to Judge Thomas D. Wingate

of Division II of this Court for all further proceedings pursuant to Local Rule 5.04 of the

Franklin Circuit Court. IT IS SO ORDERED.



PHILLIP J. SHEPHERD, JUDGE Franklin Circuit Court, Division I

DISTRIBUTION:

Hon. Michele Lerach Hon. James Baskin Bottini & Bottini, Inc. 7817 Ivanhoe Avenue, Suite 102 La Jolla, CA 92037

Hon. Jeffrey Walson Walson Law-Consultancy-Mediation P.O. Box 311 Winchester, KY 40392-0311

Hon. Donald Kelly Hon. Virginia Snell Hon. Jordan White Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, LLP 400 West Market Street, Suite 2000 Louisville, KY 40202-2898

Hon. Brad Karp
Hon. Lorin Reisner
Hon. Andrew Ehrlich
Hon. Brette Tannenbaum
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
1285 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10019-6064

Hon. Barbara Edelman Hon. Grahmn Morgan Hon. John Spires Dinsmore & Shohl LLP 100 W. Main Street, Suite 900 Lexington, KY 40507

Hon. Paul Curnin Hon. Peter Kazanoff Hon. Michael Garvey Hon. David Elbaum Hon. Sara Ricciardi Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP 425 Lexington Avenue New York, New York 10017

Hon. Barry Barnett Hon. Abigail Noebels Hon. Ryan Weiss Susman Godfrey LLP 1000 Louisiana Street, Suite 5100 Houston, TX 77002

Hon. Steven Shepard Susman Godfrey LLP 1301 Avenue of the Americas New York, New York 10019

Hon. Susan Pope Hon. Cory Skolnick Frost Brown Todd LLC 250 West Main Street, Suite 2800 Lexington, KY 40507-1749

Hon. Margaret Keeley Hon. Ana Reyes Hon. Alexander Zolan Williams & Connolly LLP 725 Twelfth Street, N.W. Washington D.C. 20005

Hon. Charles English Hon. E. Kenly Ames English, Lucas, Priest & Owsley LLP 1101 College Street; P.O. Box 770 Bowling Green, KY 42101

Hon. Robert Brazier
Hon. Steven Hall
Hon. Sarah-Nell Walsh
Hon. Kristin Tucker
Baker Donelson Bearman
Caldwell & Berkowitz PC
Suite 1600, Monarch Plaza
3414 Peachtree Road, N.E.
Atlanta, GA 30326

Hon. Philip Collier Hon. Thad Barnes Hon. Jeffrey Moad Stites & Harbison PLLC 400 West Market Street, Suite 1800 Louisville, KY 40202

Hon. Robin McGuffin Stites & Harbison PLLC 250 West Main Street, Suite 2300 Lexington, KY 40507

Hon. Glenn Cohen Hon. Lynn Watson Seiller Waterman LLC 462 S. Fourth Street, 22nd Floor Louisville, KY 40202

Hon. Kevin Fox Hon. Stewart Burch Logan, Burch, & Fox 114 Clinton Street Frankfort, KY 40601

Hon. Albert Grasch, Jr. Hon. Mel Camenisch, Jr. Hon. Wesley Harned Rose, Grasch, Camenisch, Mains 326 South Broadway Lexington, KY 40508

Hon. David Guarnieri Hon. Jason Hollon McBrayer PLLC 201 East Main Street, Suite 900 Lexington, KY 40507

Hon. Kenton Knickmeyer Hon. Mike Bartolacci Hon. Shaun Broeker Thompson Coburn LLP 505 N. 7th Street St. Louis, MO 63101

Hon Michael Hawkins

Hawkins and Associates, PLLC 420 Ann St. Frankfort, KY 40601

David Peden
William Thielen
T.J. Carlson
Brent Aldridge
David Eager
J.T. Fulkerson
c/o Kentucky Retirement Systems
1260 Louisville Road
Frankfort, KY 40601

Adam Tosh 111 West 16th Avenue Suite 400 Anchorage, AK 99501